• Fashion
    I had a huge honor to publish an article in our local Lagniappe magazine this …
    View Post
  • Fashion
    Let’s face it your health should be at the forefront of our minds all …
    View Post
  • Fashion
    Basically the jumpsuit  I am living for at the moment! It’s so comfortable …
    View Post
  • Fashion
    Hello it’s me – the queen of old school! This time of year gives me …
    View Post
  • Fashion
    Bringing you a little fall fashion inspiration today, because I’m super obsessed with linens …
    View Post
  • Arbonne
    Turning over a new leaf. I’m diving head first in bringing you more content …
    View Post
  • Fashion
    I haven’t done a full blown fashion blog in a while, so I thought …
    View Post
  • 40 Blogs in 40 Days Starting with Ash Wednesday

    Starting on Ash Wednesday, many Christians give up something enjoyable, such as sweets, social media, or T.V. A Lenten practice of giving up pleasures are good reminders that the purpose of life is not pleasure…one of the best way to get happiness is to ask ourselves, “How can I please God?” This Lenten season should help us grow closer to God. As winter precedes the new birth of spring, the penitial season of Lent prepares our hearts for the joy of the Easter season.

    1. Ashes come for Palm Sunday. They are blessed and mixed with holy water.
    2. The ashes symbolizes a time of mourning, mortality, and penance.
    3. Purifications of the soul see Matthew 11:21
    4. There are three pillars of Lent. Prayer. Fasting. Almsgiving. See Matthew 6:1-8
    5. Baptismal Renewal

    You might ask yourself what should I give up?!

    1. Don’t buy anything you don’t need, use the saved money for Almsgiving.
    2. Drinks. Sweets. Sugars. –  You know that kind of crap!
    3. Refrain from eating between meals or after dinner. Fasting.
    4. Find time for silence. No social Media. No TV. No podcast.

    You might ask yourself what should I do more of?!

    1. Get up earlier and pray.
    2. Daily Mass
    3. Readings and Devotions
    4. Novenas. Divine Mercy Chaplet
    5. Rosary
    6. Stations of the Cross

    No 6. Stations of the Cross, my dad just received these beautiful Stations. I look forward to reflecting upon them this Lenten season. Check out how awesome they are looking! He still has a few more stations to hang, but they wrap around a wood privacy fence, up above his chicken coop, and around the back side of another wood privacy fence. Since my mom passed, he has been working on some beautiful projects around his home. I have also been doing the same around my home. I think whatever you can do while you’re grieving to take the focus off the pain, you should do it! As long as it’s for the better! I came across this scripture and I wanted to leave you with it to reflect on.

    “You are sad now, but I shall see you again, and that joy no one shall take from you” John 16:22

    Best Wishes,

    Kacie Carlson



    1 Comment

    1. February 27, 2020 / 5:15 pm

      Today is the beginning of Great Lent for most Orthodox Christians (a handful of Western Rite Orthodox Christians will begin with their Ash Wednesday the day after tomorrow), and I ve decided to try my hand at doing 40 days of blogging posting at least once a day from today through the Friday before Lazarus Saturday. This is my first post for Great Lent.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this:

    Looking for Something?